The Gender and SSR Training Resource Package is divided into sets of resources focused on particular SSR topics, listed in the left hand menu. Each set of training resources contains the following:

 

Key messages: taken from the companion tool in the Gender and SSR Toolkit.

 

Training exercises: 10–19 exercises covering a range of possible subjects, methodologies, audiences and durations. Each exercise is organised under the following headings:

  • Type of exercise

  • Audience

  • Time required

  • Intended group size

  • Supplies

  • Guidance to trainers

  • Learning objectives

  • Exercise instructions

  • Handouts, worksheets and trainer's cheat sheets (if applicable)

  • Possible variations (if applicable)

 

Discussions: possible gender and SSR discussion topics, and tips on how to make discussions effective.

 

Training challenges to consider: additional challenges to those discussed in the Guide to Integrating Gender in SSR Training.

 

Examples from the ground: short case studies that can be used as a resource for training.

 

Additional training resources.

Finding a training exercise

We have compiled a directory of all training exercises in this resource package to make finding the right exercise easier! Download the directory of training exercises to help find an appropriate exercise: Directory of training exercises.

 

Using the directory requires a spreadsheet programme. Use filters to categorise exercises or search for specific exercises. For hints and tips on how to make the most of the directory see the Guide to the TRP directory.

 

The DCAF gender and security team is happy to help you identify exercises to fit your training needs. Please do not hesitate to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. us.

Using the training exercises

The training exercises are designed to help you to deliver training on gender and SSR issues in an engaging and interactive manner. You will find exercises in the form of action planning, role plays, stakeholder analysis, SWOT analysis, case studies, gap identification, mapping, and many other formats. Icebreakers, energisers and introductory exercises on gender are in the Training Resources on SSR and Gender.

The exercises focus on either one or a number of SSR issues. Some focus on particular gender issues (such as recruitment of women or addressing gender-based violence). Others are on general SSR issues in which skills to integrate gender are needed (such as consultation or project planning). The exercises can therefore be used either in a:

  • Gender and SSR training session, e.g., Police Reform & Gender, Parliamentary Oversight of the Security Sector & Gender; or

  • SSR training session not explicitly focused on gender.

The exercise formats are not designed to be prescriptive but to spark your creativity as a trainer. We encourage you to adapt them to meet your training objectives, audience, subject matter emphasis, available time and your own needs. You can use the Gender and SSR Toolkit to provide background information on a wide range of gender and SSR-related topics.

The exercises are not designed to be used “in order” or as a “module.” Instead, the Training Resource Package is designed to provide you with a diverse set of exercises that you can combine and adapt to suit the particular needs of your training.

When selecting an exercise, keep in mind:

  • What are your learning objectives? Which exercise best meets these objectives?

  • Who are your trainees? How many are there? Is this exercise appropriate for their level of experience?

  • Does this exercise fit your timeframe?

  • How could you modify the exercise to better fit your learning objectives, trainees and available time?

The exercises are organised into three categories: (1) application-in-context, (2) conceptual and (3) topic-specific.

  • Application-in-context exercises are designed to allow trainees to apply the principles of SSR and gender to their own real world organisations, or to real or simulated cases that are used as learning aids. In general, these exercises are best suited to audiences with broad policy-level responsibilities and experience. However, depending on the subject matter and training needs and objectives, any audience could benefit from participation in these exercise formats. From a pedagogical viewpoint, they are probably the most effective exercises (fastest learning), as the primary goal of each exercise is to allow trainees to explore and internalise key concepts by applying them to their own contexts.

  • Conceptual exercises focus on wider concepts and theories, aiming for a broad understanding of the key message being pursued. These exercises are best suited to audiences with detailed programme-level responsibilities and experience (in order to broaden their perspective), or those with more senior-level policy responsibilities.

  • Topic-specific exercises focus on a particular key point that requires training. These types of exercises would be best suited to an audience that has a specific training need or one composed largely of trainees who are new to the concepts of gender and SSR.

The point of this Training Resource Package is to help you to improve your gender and SSR training while being creative with the materials presented. Used together with the Gender and SSR Toolkit, we hope that it will encourage you to include gender as a key aspect of all your SSR training.

Le Dossier de supports de formation sur la place du genre dans la RSS est divisé en plusieurs groupes de supports consacrés à différents thèmes spécifiques de la RSS, tel que présenté dans le menu de gauche.  Chaque lot de supports de formation contient les éléments suivants :

 

Messages importants : extraits de la Boîte à outils « Place du genre dans la RSS ».

 

Exercices de formation : 10 à 19 exercices couvrant un large éventail de sujets, de méthodologies et de publics, de durées variables. Tous les exercices sont organisés autour des rubriques suivantes :

 

  • Type d’exercice
  • Public
  • Durée
  • Taille du groupe
  • Fournitures
  • Conseils aux formateurs
  • Objectifs pédagogiques
  • Instructions de l’exercice
  • Polycopiés, fiches et registre des triches du formateur (le cas échéant)
  • Variantes possibles (le cas échéant)

 

Discussions : sujets de discussion possibles sur la RSS et la place du genre et conseils pour optimiser l’efficacité de ces discussions.

 

Problèmes de formation à considérer : problèmes susceptibles de se poser, en plus de ceux recensés dans le Guide pour l’intégration du genre dans les formations à la RSS.

 

Exemples pratiques : brèves études de cas pouvant être utilisées en support de la formation.

 

Supports de formation supplémentaires.

 

Utilisation des exercices de formation 

 

La plus grande partie du Dossier de supports de formation sur la place du genre dans la RSS est constituée d’exercices de formation. Ces exercices sont conçus pour vous aider à dispenser des formations sur les questions de genre et de RSS de manière engageante et interactive. Ces exercices se présentent sous la forme de plans d’action, de jeux de rôle, d’analyses des parties prenantes, d’analyses SWOT, d’études de cas, d’analyses des écarts, de schématisation et bien d’autres formats encore. Le Dossier de supports de formation sur la place du genre dans la RSS comporte également des exercices de découverte, de motivation et d’introduction.

Les exercices se focalisent sur un ou plusieurs aspects de la RSS. Certains traitent de questions propres au genre (par exemple, le recrutement de femmes ou le traitement de la violence sexiste), tandis que d’autres abordent des aspects plus généraux de la RSS, pour lesquels il apparaît nécessaire d’intégrer la perspective du genre (par exemple, la consultation ou la planification de projets). Ces exercices peuvent donc être utilisés dans l’un ou l’autre des cadres suivants :

  • Séance de formation sur la place du genre dans la RSS – ex. : place du genre dans la réforme de la police, place du genre dans le contrôle parlementaire du secteur de la sécurité ;
  • Séance de formation sur la RSS, qui ne soit pas spécialement axée sur les questions de genre.
Le format des exercices n’est nullement prescriptif, mais a vocation à libérer votre créativité de formateur. Nous vous encourageons à les adapter à votre guise en fonction de vos objectifs de formation, de votre public, des sujets que vous souhaitez mettre en valeur, du temps dont vous disposez et de vos propres besoins. Vous pouvez vous servir de la Boîte à outils « Place du genre dans la réforme de la RSS » pour présenter des informations de fond sur une grande variété de sujets liés au genre et à la RSS.

Les exercices ne sont pas conçus pour être utilisés en série ou de manière linéaire. Au contraire, le Dossier de supports de formation a été conçu pour mettre à votre disposition un ensemble diversifié d’exercices que vous pouvez combiner et adapter à loisir en fonction des besoins de votre formation.

Aussi, avant de sélectionner un exercice, nous invitons-vous à vous poser les questions suivantes :

  • Quels sont vos objectifs pédagogiques ? Quel exercice correspond le mieux à ces objectifs ?
  • Qui sont vos stagiaires ? Combien sont-ils ? Cet exercice convient-il à leur niveau d’expérience ?
  • Avez-vous le temps de le mener à bien ?
  • Comment pourriez-vous modifier l’exercice de manière à ce qu’il soit mieux adapté à vos objectifs pédagogiques, à vos stagiaires et au temps dont vous disposez ?

Les exercices sont organisés en trois catégories : (1) application en contexte, (2) conceptuel et (3) thématique.

  • Les exercices d’application en contexte permettent aux stagiaires de mettre les principes de la RSS et de l’égalité des sexes en application dans leur propre organisation ou dans des cas réels ou simulés étudiés en aide à l’apprentissage. En général, ces exercices conviennent mieux aux stagiaires qui assument des responsabilités politiques de haut niveau et qui possèdent de l’expérience en ce domaine ; toutefois, selon le thème, les besoins et les objectifs de la formation, tout stagiaire a à gagner en participant à ce type d’exercice. D’un point de vue pédagogique, ces exercices sont probablement les plus efficaces (apprentissage rapide), puisque le but premier de chaque exercice est de laisser les stagiaires explorer et s’approprier les principaux concepts en les appliquant à leur propre contexte.
  • Les exercices conceptuels s’intéressent davantage aux concepts et aux théories, le but étant de bien faire comprendre le message important qui est livré. Ces exercices conviennent mieux aux stagiaires qui assument des responsabilités précises dans certains programmes et qui possèdent de l’expérience en ce domaine (afin d’élargir leur point de vue) et à ceux qui assument des responsabilités politiques de plus haut niveau.
  • Les exercices thématiques se focalisent sur un point précis exigeant une formation. Ces types d’exercices conviennent normalement mieux aux stagiaires qui ont besoin d’une formation spécifique ou qui ne sont pas familiarisés avec les concepts de genre et de RSS.

Le but de ce Dossier de supports de formation est de vous aider à améliorer votre formation en matière de genre et de RSS tout en vous laissant donner libre cours à votre créativité à partir des supports présentés. Nous vous invitons à vous en servir conjointement avec la Boîte à outils « Place du genre dans la réforme du secteur de la sécurité » et nous ne doutons pas que cela vous aidera à inclure la perspective du genre en tant qu’aspect clé de votre formation à la RSS.